Thomm Quackenbush, author

Reviews

Reviews of the novels, comics, and stories.

Review for Find what you love and Let it kill you by Thomm Quackenbush (May 2014)

I just finished a book made up of a bunch of story stories written by Thomm Quackenbush. They were really good and I was very impressed by it. Mr Quackenbush's writing is very similar to that of Edger Allen Poe. I do recommend this for those who enjoy some of Edger Allen Poe's work such as Eleonora to read this.

Artificial Gods (Nightís Dream #3) by Thomm Quackenbush Review (May 2014)

Great book. I couldnít put it down. It has some great twists and turns. The characters that Thomm created are great. We are introduced to Jasmine. She is trying to figure out how things around her got so out of hand in the blink of an eye. She, her sister, and a friend all go on an adventure to discover if what they saw was real. Jasmine learns along the way not everyone are what they seem to be. She has to decide who she can trust and whether or not they are telling the truth about certain situations that are happening. If you love novels that involve Aliens, and UFOs then you need to add this one to your TBR list. I look forward to reading more books by Thomm.

Review of Dear Satan by Thomm Quackenbush (January 2014)

What a great read ! Yes, it was short, but WOW was it awesome :) Makes you want to check your little ones letters to santa before you mail them ! ! ENJOY and be careful for what you wish for :)

We Shadows (Night's Dream) review (December 2013)

The book We Shadows by Thomm Quackenbush is one of the most engaging books Iíve ever read. It is about a woman named Shane who, by the powers of magic world was sucked into an intriguing journey involving a set of interesting characters. As the story treads on it becomes more interesting. I am eagerly looking forward to reading the next two books.

We Shadows (Night's Dream) review (December 2013)

First let me state that I enjoyed reading this. We Shadows by Thomm Quackenbush is an interesting story about a woman named Shane who is first introduced being in a New York bar. She is next seen in a university dorm according to her diary entry, and from there the story keeps getting better. As it moves along a set of unique, interesting characters are introduced. As I kept reading on, this story kept getting better. So much so that I can't wait to find out what happens in part two and three of this so far remarkable series.

Danse Macabre (December 2013)

Vampires are multiplying, and something must be done to stop them. Will Shane be able to learn how in time? This book is full of action and suspense. A must read for any Twilight fan!

Artificial Gods (August 2013)

I donít understand the so-called love triangle between Jasmine, Chrys, and Dylan. However, I like Jasmine and her thoughts on aliens, her relationship with her younger sister, and boys in general. I find the plot and pacing of the story faultless. Also, I have to applause the way Jasmine calmly handles the interrogation from the men in black, who are the worst version of this mysterious group I've read so far - singing "Mary Had a Little Lamb" in a falsetto?

Alien Hijinks (March 2013)

I really enjoyed Artificial Gods. It's about a college girl who comes home for the summer and sees a UFO in the sky. Although she's not the kind of person who believes in alien life, the next day she's visited by some men who behave very strangely. . . and it just gets weirder from there. Her sister Chrys and a boy that Chrys either is or is not dating get involved in the otherworldly hijinks as well. Are there really aliens? Or are there even darker forces at work that are disguising themeselves as alien life? The story gets a little bit grisly at times, but always stays interesting and unpredictable. I really liked the main character Jasmine, especially her musings about the underpinnings of her relationship with her sister and with boys. Also, the novel has a consistent light humorous touch. The story is set in the Hudson Valley where I live (to get specific, it's set in Pine Bush), and it's always fun to read a story set somewhere you know.

We Shadows by Thomm Quackenbush (May 2013)

Quackenbush is a talented writer, without doubt. The dry, witty humour was worth reading the book for on its own. Shane, for example, very much reminded me of Rory from Gilmore Girls, though there isnít any real reason for me to make that comparison since the genreís are so very different. But there just arenít a lot of characters that could make grammar jokes funny, probably not many authors either.

Book Review: We Shadows by Thomm Quackenbush (May 2013)

Not an avid fantasy reader I found this novel harder to get into and with no knowledge of this fantasy world a little disconcerting as a unique lexicon seemed to be introduced without much description. Iím sure people who love fantasies will find this a more entertaining read then I did but Iím just not laid back enough to enjoy this book more.

Book review - We Shadows, Book One of The Nightís Dream Series by Thomm Quackenbush by TrueJDK (November 2012)

Quackenbush has brought in a nice mix of existing mythology (and I will admit to some curiosity as to how exactly the two ravens found their way to their new mistress), whilst introducing some new touches (The Reaver, especially is an intriguing character, and again, Iím curious about the titleís history, as the character was nicely delivered), and playing around with some genre faithfuls (the meddling amateurs, the mysterious possible benefactors, and the like). Some could, perhaps, have been explained a little clearer and benefitted from a bit more time - particularly at the end.

Little Hyuts Dream Series 1&2: Author Interview, Review by Jill Marie (August 2012)

He has created a series that will pull its reader to the underneath of its pages and leave them enraptured in its wake. Thomm's writing style is as unique as it is eloquent. This series exceeds expectations with its remarkable world building and cast of characters. The author has a way of breathing life into these characters and the world they inhabit. I was definitely impressed by both the first and second book in this series.

Goodreads We Shadows by Jinx (February 2012)

This story is a compelling blend of realism and fantasy. As someone who does not often read fantasy books, I found that this one approaches the genre from a quirky enough angle to really maintain my interest and draw me into the storyline. The characters are also remarkably well-developed, the kind for which you can't help but instantly create a detailed image in your mind. The plot is satisfying on multiple levels, with enough danger, mystery, and supernatural intrigue to satisfy someone who's just reading for fun, as well as deeper and more complex emotional material that gives the story real weight.

Amazon "We Shadows" by Samael (February 2012)

Other points for those who would care about this sort of thing: the metaphysics are internally consistent and plausible, the author is obviously well versed in mythology and not just throwing around esoteric terms, but also not letting the details override the story. again, it's obvious that a lot of work went into the crafting of this world, and you can feel the contained excitement to tell us everything about it, but he does a good job of just sprinkling enough of the details to tell the story and showing that rather than being set in stone, many of the rules are etched in metal, and if the right heat or cold are applied can be bent or re-shaped temporarily.

Thomm Quackenbush is the author of the Night's Dream series - We Shadows, Danse Macabre, and Artificial Gods - published by Double Dragon Publishing. He has previously written for Cave Drawing Ink, Broken City Magazine, Paragon Press, and The Journal of Cartoon Overanalyzations.


Writing


website counter


eXTReMe Tracker



Buy Books by Thomm Quackenbush

Night's Dream series
We Shadows by Thomm Quackenbush

Danse Macabre by Thomm Quackenbush

Artificial Gods by Thomm Quackenbush

Other
Find What You Love and Let It Kill You by Thomm Quackenbush
On Amazon
On B&N
At Double Dragon